Ngāti Te Whiti hapū – a brief history

New Plymouth showing Paritutu Rock and the Sugarloaf Islands which make up the Ngāmotu Marine Park. Ngāmotu ('the islands) is the customary home of Ngāti Te Whiti whose boundaries extend to Mount Taranaki in the distance.

New Plymouth is the traditional home of the Ngāti Te Whiti hapū, whose boundaries extend from the Herekawe Stream in the south (in the centre of the photo, left) to the far bank of the Waiwakaiho River in the north (where family are standing, in photo, right).

The boundary also extends east to Mount Taranaki. The Māori name for New Plymouth is Ngāmotu (‘the islands’).

A brief history of our hapū will be uploaded here shortly.

Family standing by the new Bridge which crosses the Waiwakaiho River at our northern boundary.